Beach Reads for the Holiday Season

Submitted by admin on 2015/11/17 09:57:35 AM
760 views
With the festive holidays just around the corner, travellers smart enough to have reserved a villa in Thailand will already be contemplating what to take with them to paradise. Fortunately, beachwear leaves plenty of space in your luggage for a few good books – even better, you can download the year’s best fiction onto your kindle or iPad. For many people around the world, end-of-year holidays are the best time to travel and escape the stresses and distractions of daily life, and guests that choose a private villa in a tropical destination such as Thailand can look forward to a complete personalized retreat. Top notch facilities and services allow you to relax in peace – doing the things you love the most – and one of the best ways to switch off is to immerse yourself in top quality fiction. Switching your mental focus away from work and daily demands is just as important as physical relaxation, and in the pages of a book your mind can explore new places and experiences while your body relaxes by the private pool. Thanks to the power of online stores like amazon.com, which have prompted the mass digitization of literature; the written word has enjoyed a return to favour in recent years. The crop of quality novels published in 2015 reflects this renewed appetite for fiction and is as varied as it is intriguing. Below is a handful of novels that have achieved recognition this year to help inspire your holiday library. All the Light We Cannot See Light Written by multi-award winning author Anthony Doerr, this best selling novel tells the tale of an orphaned German boy and a blind French girl who meet each other amid the destruction of World War II. Doerr highlights the human spirit and show that against all odds, people still endeavour to be kind to each other. The novel’s highly skilled prose and deeply moving themes were rewarded with this year’s Pulitzer Prize for Literature Go Set a Watchman Watchman Pulitzer Prize winning novelist Harper Lee returned to the public eye this year, almost 50 years since her influential novel book To Kill a Mockingbird was published back in 1960. The new novel features many of the same characters from the American classic and was hailed by critics as an important addition that adds more depth and understanding through the eyes of a young woman returning to her hometown to unravel some troubling doubts from her past. A Court of Thorns and Roses images The first in a new new fantasy series by New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, this unique blend of folklore and thriller is ideal for fans of Game of Thrones. The story revolves around a 19-year-old female hunter called Feyre who is forced to enter a dangerous, mystical land she has only heard of in legends. Described by critics as “sexy and action-packed”, once you get lost in the fictional world hidden in its pages, the book (or tablet) will be impossible to put down. The Girl on the Train Train For lovers of a good mystery novel. This thrilling debut by Paula follows the disturbing life of a woman called Rachel who takes the same commuter train and watches the same suburban scene every day until one morning she witnesses a shocking act that changes everything. When she explains what she has seen to the police, her whole life becomes connected to the events that unfurl and her future becomes tied to the lives of the protagonists and everyone involved in the crime. The novel has been described as “emotionally immersive” and compared to a Hitchcockian thriller – well worth a read. Sick in the Head Head For something a little different, this book is written by Judd Apatow, one of the most successful actor-screenwriter-producer-directors in Hollywood. The project began as a series of intimate conversations about comedy, but after thirty years, it evolved into an exploration of creativity, ambition, spirituality, and the joy that comes from making people laugh with some of the biggest names in comedy. The interviewees include Mel Brooks, Jerry Seinfeld, Jon Stewart, Roseanne Barr, Seth Rogen and Amy Schumer, which makes this a must-read for all comedy nerds.